Uncategorized

More laid back today…

Well today wasn’t as structured, mostly because I didn’t motivate A toward that because his little sister managed to drag home the latest and greatest in this cold & flu season, so I’ve been hopped up on Lemsip while drowning myself in as many fluids as safely possible.  But he did manage the following:

  • Practice with zippers while rolling around in his daddy’s camping sleeping bag.
  • Watched Hey Duggee, The Rain Dance Badge episode.  I went out and downloaded some of the Hey Duggee badge program worksheets and I’m considering doing print outs and seeing if I can use the badge program to help bridge A into trying out worksheets.
  • I was really surprised when A asked to do Reading Eggs because I thought he had gone off of doing it.  But he asked and thank goodness we were offered an extension on our free trial from a month ago.
  • Then A played CBeebies Grandpa in my Pocket Spectopular Lolly Popper Game

So that made up his very productive morning and its been mostly relaxing this afternoon, though at some point I had to talk him down from going to the grocery store for ice cream in the rain while wearing his little sister’s Elsa dress.  Some meltdowns, I just gotta SMH at.

One thing I didn’t note from late yesterday afternoon because it happened after I blogged is that I tried A out on some sight reading and he’s picking up on it.  I tried taking him through similar words phonics style, but he didn’t respond to that at all.  That was one of the major sticking points for me when choosing to home educate A… he clearly showed to me all of the signs of wanting to learn to read, learning words by sight from memorization, but the curriculum at nursery supported only phonics and key workers aren’t permitted to teach any other way.  The only place I hadn’t met resistance to learning via sight-reading was when we toured Scarisbrick … since they’re not required to follow National Curriculum, they had programs that supported both phonics and sight-reading.  Phonics doesn’t in fact fit everyone and insisting that it does, doesn’t come off as a way of building education to a child’s needs.

